Skip to Content

A Happy Pocket Full of Money Book Review

This post may contain affiliate links which means I make a commission if you shop through my links. Disclosure Policy

Can I just say that I love the title of this book? A Happy Pocket Full of Money. By David Cameron Gikandi. Needless to say, the title drew me in. And what I found was information that sort of blew my mind.

Your mindset can affect how much money you make. In the inspirational book, A Happy Pocket Full of Money, David Cameron Gikandi tells you how your pocket can always be full too.
Yes! That is a beautiful visual – a pocket overflowing with cash. LOVE it!

You see, I am kind of a practical gal – almost practical, to be exact. 😉

So, soft skills and Universe type things are a bit too abstract for my line of thinking. Usually.

But this book, which is sometimes referred to as the precursor to The Secret by Rhonda Byrne (she actually collaborated with David Cameron Gikandi when writing that book) introduced some concepts that really struck a chord with me.

Money Is An Illusion

Before reading A Happy Pocket Full of Money if someone said this to me I would have slowly exited the conversation without making too many loud noises.

Combing hair while brushing teeth and all that.

In all seriousness, the arguments that Gikandi presents do make sense.

Money is only valuable because we, the people that use it, place value in it.

In reality, it is high-quality paper and ink – and as Gikandi points out – in most cases it is not even that – really money is just numbers on a computer screen telling you how much you have (or don't have) in the bank.

What Does Quantum Physics Have To Do With This?

The book moves on to an overview of quantum physics.

I know that I won't do the topic justice in my discussion because

  • it is waaaay abstract
  • I don't know enough about quantum physics other than what is written in this book.

But here goes.

Everything is made up of subatomic particles – energy packets.

And I quote:

the act of observing an object that causes it to be there, where and how we observe it.

So, to make things happen

All you need to do is choose what you wish to observe—choose it with certainty and consistency—and this will cause the energy field to materialize into that thing over “time,” depending on your clarity, focus, and certainty. Gikandi, David Cameron (2011-10-01). A Happy Pocket Full of Money: Infinite Wealth and Abundance in the Here and Now (p. 16). Hampton Roads Publishing. Kindle Edition.

Now it may seem that according to this – we are all magicians.

All we need to do is conjure up what we want – and presto! there it will be.

Yet, if you put that inner skeptic aside and think about it – maybe it is just that easy.

Maybe that voice of doubt is the one causing all of the trouble.

He (or she) might be the one standing in our way of getting everything that we desire.

So, for the rest of the book what I did, and perhaps you should too, is to cast aside your skeptic and buy into the philosophy of quantum physics.

Take a lesson in how to use the energy around you to manifest that life that you envision for yourself.

Time Does Not Exist

A Happy Pocket Full of Money then moves on to explain why time does not really exist.

I promise that this is the last really abstract concept in the book.

To be honest, I found the first chapters including this one, to be a bit tedious to get through.

They require a lot of abstract thought and I had to reread several sections to “get” the concept that Gikandi was talking about.

My take away from his discussion of time is that the only time that is real is the present – the here and now.

“Right now” used to be one point the future and before I finish typing this, it is now the past.

The point that Gikandi is making is

If you perfect awareness, imagination, faith, certainty, and clarity, you can create results instantly. Gikandi, David Cameron (2011-10-01). A Happy Pocket Full of Money: Infinite Wealth and Abundance in the Here and Now (p. 38). Hampton Roads Publishing. Kindle Edition.

So, when we speak – we should speak in the present tense – even if we have not yet experienced the results of our desire.

This means that we should be saying a whole lot more of “I AM” and not “I want” or “I will be” etc.

“I am” sends a message of certainty whereas “I want” or “I will be” send a message of lack and insecurity.

The people around you may think you are crazy when you say that you are a billionaire, but why squash your chances because of what other people think?

Visualize Your Goals

Life is imagination, images of the mind, expressed into physical form. Gikandi, David Cameron (2011-10-01). A Happy Pocket Full of Money: Infinite Wealth and Abundance in the Here and Now (p. 50). Hampton Roads Publishing. Kindle Edition.

Visualizing your goals brings them closer to reality.

Again, why not?

If you are a crafty person, you may enjoy this.

Cutting pictures out of magazines or creating a vision board on your computer or phone can help you to focus on your goals and bring you clarity.

As you create these visions, be grateful that you have received them – because remember, time does not exist – and you have everything that you ask for.

(Don't miss next week's book Ask and It Is Given by Abraham Hicks – and just wait until you find out who Abraham really is).

How You Think and Speak About Wealth Makes A Difference

How you think and how you speak are big factors in your state of wealth.

While the concepts introduced here can apply to all aspects of life – the book is called A Happy Pocket Full of Money.

This means that we are talking about manifesting more wealth into your life.

The way to do that is to think good thoughts. Don't dwell on the negative.

This is not a unique concept.

What you are experiencing in the current moment is a direct result of all of your past actions, choices, feelings, and thoughts.

You have created your present.

So if you desire your present to be amazing then think that it is AMAZING – and you will create a better present.

Just be clear on what you want, don't change your mind, and have faith in the result.

And So On

The remainder of the book drives home the concepts introduced in the first chapters.

Gikandi gives some concrete strategies to incorporate into your daily life to help you manifest wealth.

He teaches us the correct way to set goals and how to act and think with intention.

How This Effects Me

What I realized after reading A Happy Pocket Full of Money is that I am not thinking “big picture” in my life.

My days sometimes pass without intention and I can't get that time back.

I found the book to be a new and creative take on thinking and goal setting.

Visualizing is something that I enjoy so I welcome the idea of doing this more consciously.

Have You Read A Happy Pocket Full of Money?

I hope you enjoyed this A Happy Pocket Full of Money book review.

And now I would love for you to share your answers to these questions with me:

  • Do you think that there is merit to the idea that we can shape our path with our thoughts, actions, and the way we speak?
  • Did you enjoy this book, or did you think it was baloney?
  • Which strategies from this book will you try to incorporate into your life?

Please join the discussion in the comments below.

More Book Reviews You Might Like

Previous
The 8th Habit by Stephen R. Covey - a review
Ask and It Is Given by Esther and Jerry Hicks - A Book Review
Next
Ask And It Is Given Book Review

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Raquel

Wednesday 24th of February 2016

It sounds like an intriguing book Neena! Yes, I do believe that we can control much with our thoughts, actions and attitude, more than we believe. It does sound a bit abstract, I am going to look for it next time I am at the book store. I love looking and feeling real books as opposed to the online version. I feel that they emit more energy.

Neena

Sunday 28th of February 2016

Hi Raquel, Honestly, I had to read the book twice in order to absorb all of the information - because it is so abstract.

But I do love the avenues that it has opened for me.

I also love your comment about books emitting energy- I never thought of it that way.

I, too, enjoy the paper of books but I like the convenience of the Kindle version. If I could have my way, I would get both. Amazon offers this option on some titles (where you can get the Kindle version for cheap if you buy the actual paper book - but you have to buy the actual book first - you can't do it the other way around) but I haven't taken advantage of it yet.

Thanks for stopping in!

Donna Merrill

Wednesday 24th of February 2016

Hi Neena,

This is an excellent review of Gikandi's book which sounds wonderful. I haven't read it, so I'll have to peek in.

I love quantum physics as a way to explain the power of vision and illusion. I'm actually a big fan of Michio Kaku, and he explains what reality in terms of energy.

Everything is energy, and anything that can be seen, imagined, envisioned, contemplated... everything is an energy form and needs only be transformed from the abstract "idea" to the concrete reality that we'd call "results."

I enjoyed this!

-Donna

Neena

Sunday 28th of February 2016

Hi Donna, I have not heard of Michio Kaku - I will have to look into his works.

But it sounds like it's along the lines of what Gikandi talks about.

Quantum physics and energy and how our thoughts influence our reality.

It has really opened up a whole new world for me - one that I am excited to explore.

Thanks for stopping in!

Ankit

Tuesday 23rd of February 2016

Needless to say that anything and everything related to earning money is my favorite. I think with this review in mind, I will atleast read this book now.

Neena

Sunday 28th of February 2016

Hi Ankit, I like that you keep it simple - if it has to do with making money you're all in! :-)

Definitely check out the book - making money might be easier than you think.

Thanks for stopping by!